Semi-finalists announced for BBC Radio Scotland Young Traditional Musician Award 2014

bbc radio ScotlandIt’s been another great year for Scottish Traditional music and the BBC Radio Scotland Young Traditional Musician Award. More musicians are performing around the world than ever and talent is soaring amongst the musicians entering the profession.

We are very glad to announce the latest batch of semi-finalists entering the BBC Radio Scotland Young Traditional Musician Award. As usual they range from all Scotland and show the wide range of talent our island produces. They are:

Alistair Iain Paterson – piano (Bishopton)
Edward Seaman – pipes, whistle (Edinburgh)
Graham MacKenzie – fiddle (Inverness)
Ian Smith – accordion (Tiree)
Jack Badcock – song, guitar (Edinburgh)
Kirsty Law – song (Borders)
Kirsty Watt – song (Isle of Lewis)
Mhairi Marwick – fiddle (Fochabers)
Neil Ewart – fiddle (Kilchoan)
Pippa Reid-Foster – clarsach (Kilcreggan)
Robyn Stapleton – Song (Stranraer)
Suzanne Houston – piano, song (Golspie)

Simon Thoumire, Director of Hands Up for Trad says

“Again we have another brilliant lineup of talented young musicians. The semi-finals are always a great concert showcasing Scotland’s young talent.”

The musicians will convene in Coulter Hall, Coulter, South Lanarkshire on Saturday October 5th and each perform for 10 minutes to a live audience and a panel of judges. 6 of the musicians will go through to the final at Glasgow’s Celtic Connections Festival. The final will be broadcast live on BBC Radio Scotland.

The BBC Radio Scotland Young Traditional Musician Award exists to promote traditional music as a career and to give the musicians the opportunity to add to their knowledge of the business. Prizes include a recording session with BBC Radio Scotland, performance at the Scots Trad Music Awards, membership of the Musicians’ Union and the TMSA, to take part in the TMSA Young Trad tour and many more opportunities come the winners way.

More information at

Contact Hands Up for Trad, Melville House, 70 Drymen Road, Bearsden, Glasgow G61 2RH [email protected]

The Awards are now in their 14th year. The 2013 winner was Glasgow’s Paddy Callaghan