December 4, 2011 in News by Simon Thoumire

Scottish music stars were out in force tonight (Saturday 3rd December) to attend the 2011 MG ALBA Scots Trad Music Awards, which have been dubbed, ‘the Brits of the Trad scene.’

A record number of almost 100,000 votes were cast online by the public and winners were announced by hosts Mary Ann Kennedy and Tony Kearney at a glittering ceremony at the Perth Concert Hall.
Winners at the prestigious awards included Skerryvore (Best Live Act), Field Marshall Montgomery Pipe Band (Best Pipe Band), Battlefield Band (Folk Band Of The Year), Manran (Album Of The Year) and Siobhan Miller (Singer of The Year).

The tiny Ben Nevis bar in Glasgow fought off strong competition from major venues to be named Venue of the year, while the Orkney Folk Festival was named Event Of The Year. (See full winners list at the end)
Ten artists were also chosen by a panel comprised of their peers and the award organisers to be inducted into the Scottish Traditional Music Hall Of Fame. They are John Watt, Ian Duncan, Billy Thom, Alasdair Fraser, Bert Jansch, Donald MacLeod (Islay), Tannahill Weavers, Bobby MacLeod, Tobar an Dualchais – Kist O Riches, Arthur Cormack

The night was rounded off by some fantastic performances from winners Skerryvore, party starters Peatbog Faeries, the incredible Barbara Dickson Band and emerging talent Kristen Harvey and the National Youth Pipe Band of Scotland.

Event founder and promoter Simon Thoumire says: “A massive congratulations to this year’s winners and also to everyone that made the shortlist – the competition was fierce this year and the voters had a tough job. Thanks to everyone who made this year’s event the best one yet. Roll on our tenth birthday next year.”

Alasdair Morrison, Chairman of event sponsors MG ALBA adds: “We’ve seen some incredible performances and honoured some fantastic winners this evening so we are thrilled once again to be the event sponsor.  We believe passionately in showcasing the best of Gaelic and Scottish culture on BBC ALBA and we’re delighted that we can offer even more people the chance to share in the Awards by transmitting them on our channel.”

The MG ALBA Scots Trad Music Awards programme will air on BBC ALBA – Na Trads, Monday 5 December at 10pm. Repeated Friday 9 December @ 9pm. Freeview 8, Virgin Media 188, Freesat 110, Sky 168
For more information, quotes, interviews and images, contact Wire Media:
Lee Beattie | [email protected] | 07855 367 922
Kat Costello | [email protected] | 0141 440 6761

Catch up on the night with our live blog from the event (archived)

The full winners list for this year’s MG ALBA Scots Trad Music Awards:

Album of the Year sponsored by Birnam CD Manran – Manran

Gaelic Singer of the Year sponsored by Macmeanmna Norrie MacIver

Instrumentalist of the Year sponsored by Temple Records Innes Watson

Music Tutor of the Year sponsored by Creative Scotland’s Youth Music Initiative Mairi Campbell

Composer of the Year sponsored by PRS for Music Aidan O’ Rourke

Coda Music Venue of the Year Award Ben Nevis

Event of the Year sponsored by VisitScotland Orkney Folk Festival

Up and Coming Artist of the Year sponsored by The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland Rura

Trad Music in the Media sponsored by Transatlantic Sessions

Citty Finlayson Scots Singer of the Year sponsored by Traditional Music and Song Association Siobhan Miller

Community Project of the Year sponsored by Gordon Duncan Memorial Trust Blazin in Beauly

Live Act of the Year sponsored by Greentrax Recordings Skerryvore

Scottish Folk Band of the Year sponsored by All Celtic Music Battlefield Band

Pipe Band of the Year Field Marshal Montgomery Pipe Band

Scottish Dance Band of the Year sponsored by National Association of Accordion and Fiddle Clubs Robert Nairn

Club of the Year sponsored by Royal Scottish Country Dance Society Leith Folk Club

Scottish Traditional Music Hall of Fame sponsored by Fèisean nan Gàidheal

2011 Inductees
John Watt
Pipe Major Ian Duncan
Billy Thom
Alasdair Fraser
Bert Janch
Donald MacLeod, Islay
Tannahill Weavers
Bobby MacLeod

Services to Gaelic Music sponsored by Bòrd na Gàidhlig – Tobar an Dualchais/Kist o Riches

Hamish Henderson Services to Traditional Music Award
Arthur Cormack