Event Creator

  • Avatar Image

Organized For:

Scots Trad Music Awards 2004

Active 1 week, 6 days ago.


7:30 pm, December 4, 200411:00 pm, December 4, 2004 at Queens Hall Edinburgh.


Hands up for Trad, in association with BBC Scotland Interactive, hosted the second annual Scots Trad Music Awards 2004 on Saturday, December 4th at 7.30pm in Edinburgh’s Queen’s Hall. The aim of the Awards is to celebrate Scotland’s rich musical heritage and in doing so, create a high profile annual event to bring traditional music centre stage. The Awards encompass Scotland’s thriving traditional music scene from Gaelic and Scots song, folk music, Scottish dance to pipe bands and more. This year’s event was opened by musician and last years ‘Best Instrumentalist’ Phil Cunningham.

The 2004 Awards ceremony and concert included performances from:

Battlefield Band (Best Live Band 2003)
Cliar (Best Album 2003)
James Graham (BBC Radio Scotland Young Traditional Musician 2004)
Hadhirgaan (23 young traditional musicians from Orkney).
Nicol McLaren and the Glencraig Scottish Dance Band
Scottish Power Pipe Band (Best Pipe Band 2003)
St Roch’s Grúpaí Ceoil
Sheena Wellington

The event sponsores: Birnam CD, BBC Radio Scotland, BBC Radio Shetland, Foot Stompin’ Records, Greentrax, Highlander Music, Highland Spring, The Living Tradition, Macmeanmna, McEwan’s Sessions, Musician’s Union, National Association of Accordion and Fiddle Clubs, The Press Data Bureau, The National Piping Centre, The New Makars Trust, Royal Scottish Country Dance Society, Scottish Arts Council, Temple Records, Traditional Music and Song Association, Tradtunes.com, Visit Scotland, Wellington Consultancy.

2004 Nominees and Winners

Album of the Year

Alasdair Fraser & Natalie Haas – Fire & Grace – Winner!
Blair Douglas: Angels from the Ashes
Martyn Bennett: Grit
The Occasionals – Reel of Four

BBC Radio Scotland Trad Music Personality of the Year

Frank McArdle
Fiona MacKenzie  -  (Mairi Mhor Gaelic Song Fellowship) Winner!
Rita Hunter
Harris Playfair

Best Community Project

ALP Scots Music Group
Broonie – The Legend
Feis Rois Traditional Music in Schools project – Winner
Glasgow Fiddle Workshop

BBC Radio Scotland Trad Music Personality of the Year

Frank McArdle
Fiona MacKenzie  -  (Mairi Mhor Gaelic Song Fellowship) Winner!
Rita Hunter
Harris Playfair

Club of the Year

Edinburgh Folk Club
Glenfarg Village Folk Club
Gretna Accordion & Fiddle Club
Hootananny, Inverness  – Winner!

Event of the Year

Celtic Connections Festival
Hebridean Celtic Festival – Winner!
Piping Hot, Glasgow International Piping Festival
Shetland Accordion and Fiddle Festival

Gaelic Singer of the Year

Julie Fowlis
Maggie MacInnes – Winner!
Rachel Walker
Rona Lightfoot

Instrumentalist of the Year

Archie McAllister (fiddle)
Chris Stout (fiddle)
Corrina Hewat (clarsach)
Fred Morrison (bagpipes) – Winner!

Journalist of the Year

Jim Gilchrist
Kenny Mathieson
Rob Adams
Sue Wilson – Winner!

Live Act of the Year

Blazin’ Fiddles – Winner!
Finlay MacDonald Band
Session A9
Unusual Suspects

Media Award

Highlands and Islands Arts Journal (HI~Arts Journal)
Take the Floor (Radio Scotland) – Winner!
The Sunday Getherin’ (Radio Borders)

Retailer of the Year

Folk Revolution
Foot Stompin Celtic Music – Winner!
Record Rendezvous (

Scots Singer of the Year

Dick Gaughan – Winner!
Gordeanna McCulloch
Jim Malcolm
Maureen Jelks

Scottish Dance Band of the Year

Da Fustra – Winner!
Fergie MacDonald Band
Ian Cruikshanks Scottish Dance Band
Nicol McLaren and the Glencraig Scottish Country Dance Band

Scottish Folk Band of the Year

Blazin’ Fiddles
Old Blind Dogs – Winner!
Tannahill Weavers

Scottish Pipe Band of the Year

Boghall & Bathgate Caledonia Pipe Band
Kintyre Schools Pipe Band
Kirkwall City Pipe Band – Winner!
The National Youth Pipe Band of Scotland

Songwriter of the Year

Jim Malcolm – Winner!
David MacLennan
Dougie MacLean
Karine Polwart

Up and Coming Artist/ Band of the Year

Anna Massie Band
Dòchas – Winner!
Fine Friday

Hamish Henderson Award for Services to Traditional Music: The McCalmans

International Presentation: Doc Watson